Deadlines & key dates

All applications and documents must arrive at the Go Global office by the dates listed below.

Application deadlines

First deadline (for Sept start): Second deadline (for Jan start): Application/document Notes
March 15, 2019 August 25, 2019 Online exchange nomination A link to the online application will be sent to you directly once your university has provided us with your nomination.
April 1, 2019 September 15, 2019 Application documents Deadline for online application and supporting documents. This will include a list of courses you are interested in, not necessarily what you are registering in.
May 1, 2019 Go Global will email students Housing application You have priority housing if you apply by the deadline, this does not mean guaranteed housing.
June 10, 2019 October 15, 2019 Final course selection form This is your actual list of chosen courses. Our courses will be published online in late April for the upcoming year. Your final course selection form will be emailed to you.

Key dates

The Academic Calendar is a comprehensive guide to all programs, courses, services, and academic policies at the University of British Columbia. The Calendar also serves as a record of many University academic policies and procedures. The online Calendar is the official Calendar. Changes are incorporated online at intervals throughout the year. Learn about key dates throughout the academic year through the Academic Calendar.

Academic calendar

Term 1 (September to December, 2019)
Sunday, September 1 Housing move-in day
Monday, September 2 Labour Day (University closed)
Tuesday, September 3 International Student Orientation
Tuesday, September 3 Create Orientation
Wednesday, September 4 Classes begin
Tuesday, September 17 Add or drop class deadline
Monday, October 14 Thanksgiving Day (University closed)
Friday, November 8 Last day to withdrawal from Term 1 classes
Monday, November 11 Remembrance Day (University closed)
Tuesday, November 12 Winter mid-term break (No classes)
Tuesday, November 29 Last day of classes
December 2 to 17 Examination period
December 18 to January 6 Winter Break
Term 2 (January to April, 2020)
Sunday, January 5 Residence opens at noon
Monday, January 6 First day of classes
Tuesday, January 14 Final day to add or drop classes
Monday, February 17 Family Day (University closed)
February 18 to 21 Mid-term break (Reading Week)
Wednesday, April 8 Last day of classes
Friday, April 10 Good Friday ( University closed)
Monday, April 13 Easter Monday (University closed)
April 14 to 29 Examination period
Thursday, April 30 Residence close