Deadlines & key dates

All applications and documents must arrive at the Go Global office by the dates listed below.

Application deadlines

First deadline (for Sept start): Second deadline (for Jan start): Application/document Notes
March 15, 2020 August 25, 2020 Online exchange nomination A link to the online application will be sent to you directly once your university has provided us with your nomination.
April 1, 2020 September 15, 2020 Application documents Deadline for online application and supporting documents. This will include a list of courses you are interested in, not necessarily what you are registering in.
May 1, 2020 Go Global will email students Housing application You have priority housing if you apply by the deadline, this does not mean guaranteed housing.
June 10, 2020 October 15, 2020 Final course selection form This is your actual list of chosen courses. Our courses will be published online in late April for the upcoming year. Your final course selection form will be emailed to you.

Key dates

The Academic Calendar is a comprehensive guide to all programs, courses, services, and academic policies at the University of British Columbia. The Calendar also serves as a record of many University academic policies and procedures. The online Calendar is the official Calendar. Changes are incorporated online at intervals throughout the year. Learn about key dates throughout the academic year through the Academic Calendar.

Academic calendar

Term 1 (September to December, 2020)
Sunday, September 6 Housing move-in day
Monday, September 7 Labour Day (University closed)
Tuesday, September 8 International Student Information Session
Tuesday, September 8 Create Orientation
Wednesday, September 9 Classes begin
Wednesday, September 23 Add or drop class deadline
Monday, October 12 Thanksgiving Day (University closed)
Friday, November 13 Last day to withdrawal from Term 1 classes
Wednesday, November 11 Remembrance Day (University closed)
November 12 to 13 Winter mid-term break (No classes)
Friday, December 4 Last day of classes
December 7 to 22 Examination period
December 23 to January 3 Winter Break
Term 2 (January to April, 2021)
Sunday, January 3 Residence opens at noon
Monday, January 4 First day of classes
Friday, January 15 Final day to add or drop classes
Monday, February 15 Family Day (University closed)
February 15 to 19 Mid-term break (Reading Week)
Thursday, April 8 Last day of classes
Friday, April 2 Good Friday ( University closed)
Monday, April 5 Easter Monday (University closed)
April 12 to 27 Examination period
Wednesday, April 28 Residence close